A Special meeting of the Board of Education of the Hopatcong Borough School District was held on Tuesday, January 03, 2017 in the Board Meeting Room, 2 Windsor Avenue, Hopatcong, New Jersey.

- **1.** The meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m.
- 2. FLAG SALUTE
- 3. Mr. Fasano, Board President, read the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act Statement:

In accordance with Section 5 of the Open Public Meetings Act, Chapter 231, P.L. 1975, this public body, the Hopatcong Board of Education hereby announces that The New Jersey Herald has been notified by mail that this Board of Education Special meeting will take place in the Hopatcong High School cafeteria, 2A Windsor Avenue, Hopatcong, NJ, at 7:00 p.m. January 03, 2017.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mr. Anthony Fasano, President

Mr. Philip DiStefano Mr. Warren Gallagher Mr. Peter Karpiak Mr. Alex McLean Mr. Robert Nicholson Dr. Sarah Schindelar Mrs. Candice Smith Mrs. Carol Trumpore

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Also Present: Mrs. Cynthia Randina, Superintendent, Ms. Carolyn B. Joseph, Interim Business Administrator/ Board Secretary, Kerri A. Wright, Legal Counsel,

4. Report of the 2016 School Election Results and Acknowledgment of Board Members

Acknowledgment of the results of the November 2016 Board of Education Election as reported and certified by the Sussex County Board of Elections as follows:

Elected to Hopatcong Board of Education: 3 Year Term

<u>Candidate</u>	Total Votes
Anthony Fasano	3,914
Warren Gallagher	2,715
Alexander McLean	

5. Administration of Oath of Office to Newly Elected Board Members

6. Roll Call (Newly Formed Board)

X_Philip DiStefano	_X_Anthony Fasano	_X_Warren Gallagher
X_Peter Karpiak	_X_Alex McLean	X_Robert Nicholson
X_Candice Smith	_X_Dr. Sarah Schindelar	X_Carol Trumpore
X_Cynthia Randina	_X_Carolyn B. Joseph	# of Public Quorum YES NO

7. Election of Board President

The Board will entertain a motion for nominations for **Hopatcong Board of Education President** for the 2016/2017 school year and 2017/2018 school year to Reorganization Meeting in January 2018.

<u>Nominations</u>	<u>Made by</u>
Anthony Fasano	Alex McLean Philip DiStefano

Motion to approve President:
Motion made by Mr. McLean, seconded by Mr. DiStefano.

Philip DiStefano	Yes	Warren Gallagher	Yes	Peter Karpiak	Yes
Alex McLean	Yes	Robert Nicholson	Yes	Sarah Schindelar	Yes
Candice Smith	Yes	Carol Trumpore	Yes	Anthony Fasano	Yes

Mr. Fasano is re-elected President with a unanimous vote.

8. Election of Vice-President

The Board will entertain a motion for nominations for **Hopatcong Board of Education Vice-President** for the 2016/2017 school year and 2017/2018 school year to Reorganization Meeting in January 2018.

<u>Nominations</u>	<u>Made by</u>
Rob Nicholson	Candice Smith, Rob Nicholson
Carol Trumpore	Alex McLean, Warren Gallagher

Motion to approve Vice President: Motion made by Mr. McLean, seconded by Mr. Gallagher.

Philip DiStefano	C.T.	Warren Gallagher	C.T.	Peter Karpiak	C.T.
Alex McLean	C.T.	Robert Nicholson	R.N.	Sarah Schindelar	C.T.
Candice Smith	R.N.	Carol Trumpore	C.T.	Anthony Fasano	C.T.

Mrs. Trumpore is re-elected Vice President with a vote of 7 to 2.

9. <u>Establishment of Board of Education Annual Meeting Calendar</u>

Approval of the attached list of **Board Meeting dates for the 2016/2017 and 2017/2018 school year** through the Reorganization Meeting in **January 2018** and notification of such dates to the official newspapers of the Hopatcong Board of Education.

Motion to approve Board of Education Meeting Calendar: Motion made by Mr. Nicholson, seconded by Mr. DiStefano.

After discussion, this motion was amended to approve only the January 30, 2017 meeting date at this time.

Motion made by Mrs. Trumpore, seconded by Mr. Nicholson

All in favor

Philip DiStefano	Yes	Warren Gallagher	Yes	Peter Karpiak	Yes
Alex McLean	Yes	Robert Nicholson	Yes	Sarah Schindelar	Yes
Candice Smith	Yes	Carol Trumpore	Yes	Anthony Fasano	Yes

Motion passes.

10. Adoption of Code of Ethics

Approval of the adoption of the Code of Ethics for Board members as required by law, N.J.S.A. 18A:12-2.1 and N.J.S.A. 41:1-1 and 1-3.

Motion to adopt Code of Ethics: Motion made by Mrs. Smith, seconded by Dr. Schindelar.

Philip DiStefano	Yes	Warren Gallagher	Yes	Peter Karpiak	Yes
Alex McLean	Yes	Robert Nicholson	Yes	Sarah Schindelar	Yes
Candice Smith	Yes	Carol Trumpore	Yes	Anthony Fasano	Yes

Motion carries. Code of Ethics is adopted and read by all board members.

11. <u>Meeting Open to the Public for General Discussion</u>

- Joe Bongiorno Form/Function Function/Goals...Goals are district approved.
 Form provides resources to accomplish goals
- Ruth Fouda Apologizes for Michele Perrotti for not being here. Congratulates new board members and reminds everyone here to help the kids.
- Kerry Thompson Coffee time at MS.
- Ryan Smith Flag is in the wrong place. (Warren Gallagher moved flag).
- Pedro _____ Congratulates new board members, they are not paid and they are all about the kids.

12. <u>Board Member Comments</u>

- Rob Nicholson Looking forward to working with Alex and Warren.
- Candice Smith Congratulates newest board members and looks forward to working together.

- Warren Gallagher Glad to be here.
- Alex McLean Happy to be here.
- Carol Trumpore Looking forward to continuing our good work. Thank you for your support and prayers.
- Phil DiStefano Congratulations to the new board members.
- Sarah Schindelar Congratulations & condolences. Looking forward to working together.
- Peter Karpiak Good momentum going forward.
- Anthony Fasano Congratulates newly elected; it should all be about student achievement.

13. Adjournment

Motion to adjou Motion made by	ırn: Mr. Nicholson, seconded l	by Mr. DiStefano	
All in favor	Time: 7:45 pm		
Respectfully subn	nitted,		
Carolyn B. Joseph	n, Interim Board Secreta	ıry	